Getting with the times

So, I’ve finally jumped on board another technological thing late in the game.  But hey, it’s still good.  I downloaded the Kindle app for my iPhone.  Did you know you can download sample books on that thing??  Yes.  I’m sure you did know that, but I just figured it out.  It’s amazing, and now I want an actual Kindle.  Currently, I’m sampling Exploring the Psychology of Interest by Paul Silvia.  Silvia is an amazing social psychologist (of course, I love them) who does a lot of research on interest and curiosity (among several other things).  I am most amazed at his viewpoint of interest as an emotion.  He states in the beginning of his book that a lot of people view interest as a cognitive process or motivational state but that there is a lot of evidence for it as an emotion.  Before picking up his book, I would have associated myself with that camp.  However, as per usual, I am slowly being persuaded by his data.  *Side note folks – the best way to win me over to your side of the argument is to show me a lot of very good, conclusive data.  I will always be a researcher at heart.*  Soon I’ll be getting the full version of his book because I’ve torn through my Amazon sample.  Marketing ploy win.

I encourage anyone out there looking for a good read to pick this book up.  It relates to almost every area of interest (no pun intended) – education, vocation, personality, motivation, etc.  As far as I have read, it’s a very good read which I highly recommend.  Once again, this relates to my job.  How lucky am I?  So lucky.

About Megan Johnson Shen

I am a social psychologist graduating with my Ph.D. from Baylor University this May and moving to NYC this summer to start a new job as a postdoctoral researcher at Mt. Sinai School of Medicine in the Cancer Prevention and Control Department. I love the brain, human behavior, and anything to do with understanding them better. I love research and a good dinner party. Fine wine and cheese - I'm there. Interesting experimental data? I'll probably show for that too. View all posts by Megan Johnson Shen

One response to “Getting with the times

  • Jordan LaBouff

    I'm not a big fan of the emitted light (though the apps are free and you already have a phone). If you need, I can show you data about reading speeds, retention rates and emitted/reflected light. :)Whether you decide to get an e-reader or not, I couldn't recommend Project Gutenberg more highly. I know you're a well-read woman, but I'm sure there are things there that would interest you. Project Gutenberg takes books that are in the public domain and makes them available as HTML. Users, then, transform that HTML into PDF and PDB formats – readable by e-readers.Just the other day I downloaded some favorites I hadn't read (e.g., Joyce's Ulysses, The Brothers K.), and some that I'd like to get to eventually (The Adventures of Huck Finn). Check them out: http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Leave a Reply

